Jurisdiction: American diner / Bar

Outcome: Majority Verdict

Salient features: South side fried burger, Eggplant tenders

Ratio Decidendi: Each time I visit I’ll do the same dance with Leonard’s menu – convince myself that it’s time to try the cheeseburger, feel my willpower fade while everyone else decides what they want, and then cave completely when I tell the server that I’ll have the South side fried burger.

I realize that I’ve been away for a while but I dare say that this is the darn best fried chicken burger you’ll find in this state. First things first – you won’t find any amateur hour chicken breast under the hood. As it should and always be, chicken thighs i.e. the only part of the chicken which delivers the holy trinity of meat, fat and skin in perfect ratios, are used. But the real hero in my opinion is the batter – light, unapologetically crunchy and flavourful in its own right.

20171108_190701

No item better showcases the batter than the eggplant tenders. Think wedges, actually I guess tenders (as in chicken tenders) would also be a fair but only obvious in retrospect description (to me at least) but oh I digress, with the potato/chicken Ctrl + H-ed with eggplant that dissolves as it hits your palate.

Obiter dicta: Oh did I mention the $12 jugs midweek? You’re welcome.

 

Leonard's House of Love Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment