Jurisdiction: Cafe

Outcome: Unanimous Verdict

Ratio Decidendi: Best pies in Sydney. ’nuff said.

Scope of discovery: Lamb & Rosemary Pie, Beef Bourguignon Pie, Chicken & Leek Pie, Cannoncini, Bacon & Egg Roll, Pork & Fennel Sausage Roll, Lemon Tart.

Case Note: Pies. Pies. Pies. Hidden in plain sight in leafy Gordon are easily the best pies in Sydney. How word hasn’t got out I am not quite sure but the flaky-ness and the buttery-ness is unquestionable. The generosity with the ingredients seems to have dipped from Bakerie’s early days (or maybe I was especially lucky early on), but the taste hasn’t changed and at $5.50 a pop there aren’t much better flavour/$ offerings out there. Sadly there isn’t a photo on the internet I can borrow to illustrate the point – so you’ll have to take my word for it and find out for yourself.

The other standout at Bakerie are the Cannoncinis which are small cylinders of glazed puff pastry filled with vanilla crema pasticerra. Before you say there’s nothing really special or difficult about making puff pastry, sugar, and vanilla pastry cream taste good, the thing I like about Bakerie’s rendition is the restraint – it’s not overly sweet or I-feel-like-I-need-to-skip-dinner-tonight creamy, which almost allows me to enjoy an entire serve to myself guilt free (ok maybe that’s going a bit too far).

If you turn up too early and the pies aren’t ready yet, their interpretation of a bacon & egg roll is worth trying while you wait. If the classic greasy bacon & egg roll is Laurel, Bakerie’s version served in a sourdough burger bun is probably Hardy. I should point out that Bakerie markets sourdough as its signature strength.

Obiter dicta: The pies aren’t always available first thing in the morning. Going after 10am is usually a safe bet, but be prepared to wait for a table – seating can be hard to come by at that time!

Hours: Closed Sundays, 3pm on Saturdays and 5pm on weekdays.

Bakerie@ on Urbanspoon

