DSC00453

Jurisdiction: Malaysian

Outcome: Majority Verdict

Ratio decidendi: Authentic Malaysian in the heart of London.

Case note: There are probably few things I miss more though than a good plate of mee rebus. It’s one of the harder to find dishes even in Malaysia so I was pretty happy to find (what I describe to my aussie friends as) the ‘Malaysian carbonara’ on the menu.

DSC00450

 

KL cafe’s signature dish though is nasi lemak and although I don’t have a point of comparison for London, it wouldn’t surprise me if this was one of the better ones around. Fragrant coconut-ey rice and a strong sambal hit evoke memories of home.

_84

 

Mee goreng is probably one of the most underrated dishes in the Malaysian food universe. Done well, it’s right up there with its more famous cousin – the iconic char kuey teow. I can’t call a winner between KL cafe’s and Roti King’s versions – suffice to say they’re both pretty darn tasty.

IMG_0420

Location: Can be confusingly hard to find for first timers given the small purple sign. It’s on the first floor of the shop-lot to the left of Red Hot.DSC_3382

